XR Accelerator

End date: 15 March 2024

XR Network+ is partnering with Codebase to deliver a free XR Accelerator for people working in extended reality (XR) and virtual production (VP) technologies at UK universities. The programme is open to early to mid-career researchers, late-stage PhD students, and research-engaged technicians. 

The part-time six-week course provides a unique opportunity for participants to develop entrepreneurial skills, explore what goes into creating a technology product business and gain knowledge of: 

  • Intellectual property (IP) emerging from research
  • Commercial pathways and models
  • Funding options
  • Applying industry innovation methodologies
  • Routes to impact

With a mix of online and in-person sessions, each collaborative workshop will be taught by experienced startup founders. Participants will break down barriers to the startup world and build valuable connections with other researchers working on virtual production technologies. Each week, the programme will focus on a different topic:

  1. Intro to startups
  2. Understanding customers
  3. Understanding markets
  4. Experimentation and learning loops
  5. Commercialisation and product to market
  6. Funding, pitching and showcase

The programme welcomes applications from people from diverse backgrounds working at higher education institutions in the UK. An industry background prior to entering academia or experience working in industry will be considered, but is not essential. Please refer to the programme guidance document for a full list of eligibility criteria.  

Please note: Successful applicants will be expected to attend the in-person workshops in York on Monday 13/Tuesday 14 May and Monday 17/Tuesday 18 June. 

NEXT STEPS

TIMELINE

Applications close: Friday 15 March 2024 (23:59)

Selection: Monday 18 March to Friday 12 April 2024

Notification of success: Week of 15 April 2024

Programme onboarding: Monday 22 April to Friday 10 May 2024

Programme begins: In-person half day workshops (York): PM of Monday 13 May and AM of Tuesday 14 May 2024

Online workshops: Tuesday 21 May, Tuesday 28 May, Tuesday 4 June and Tuesday 11 June 2024

Programme ends: In-person half day workshops (York): PM Monday 17 June and AM Tuesday 18 June 2024